You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> Consoles and Routing

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 New to home recording. Looking for a mixer!
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Alexonguitar Offline

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 8:36 am    Post subject: New to home recording. Looking for a mixer! Reply with quote

Hello!

I am just getting started with this recording thing. I will likely be just hooking up whatever mixer I get to my Apple Laptop. Yeah I know, not very professional. But this is where I am:

-I do very little DJing anymore but I would want something that is portable so I can do a little something here and there.
-I would like only record a guitar an vocals. At the very most I would be recording 2 vocals and 2 guitars.
-I am not looking to spend a ton but I want something that isn't complete junk
-I would like the ability to do some live sound as well. 2 mics and 2 guitar max at this point.
-My big concern is just the quality. I don't want something that has poor quality.

I have been looking at the Allen & Heath Zed 10FX. The 12FX would be great but its about $200 more expensive.

Someone suggest the Yamaha MW12CX. This has 12 channels (I wouldn't mind some room to grow), FX, is more in my price range and has a USB as well but I don't know if Yamaha has as good a name in the mixer world as Allen & Heath. After I looked into yamaha I found tons of mixers with USB capability with many channels. I would prefer you have sliders compared to the Allen & Heath Zed 10fx knobs but I would do it for the price is the quality beat all the others. I am looking for something between $250 and $400.

Thoughts?
dobro Offline
more personal tittle

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote