You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> Consoles and Routing

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 Patchbays and power conditioners....
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:06 pm    Post subject: Patchbays and power conditioners.... Reply with quote

any thoughts (for or against) placing a power conditioner next to a patch bay? I can route all the patch bay cables to the side/around the PC rather than passing underneath/ through the connecting power plugs

I'm re-doing my patch bays and REALLY want to get it right this time around- so

48 XLR from the studio into the control room

26 XLR inputs to outboard gear

14 XLR outputs from outboard gear

96 TRS to/from outboard gear

a lot a damn soldering.......

my goal is to only have to go under the console if I upgrade a piece of gear which I'm hoping will be an annual thing only as I've decide that any future purchase will be for top shelf gear (which will be hard to resist the latest/greatest value added __________ ever offered!

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
Lt. Bob Offline
On a Break


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 12390
Location: America's Wang
Age: 66


PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it'll be great to have that capacity to route things.

I don't think I'd put the conditioner next to the patchbay ....... seems like it might be possible to get some noise into the system

_________________
Of course your take on me, is going to be different than my take on me --- GT
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's what i was wondering... however, it is a rack mount piece of gear and it's always been next to something... (headphone amp on one side, DAW, pre's on the other side, one under a line mixer for the keyboards.... can't say I notice any noise... but then I have tube amps, the Hammond, and a Leslie that are noisy all by themselves) There's nothing in any of their literature about location aside from not using in proximity to a heat source (?) and make sure the cord(s) are not in a n area where they can be stepped on/tripped over ...I suppose some people need to be told that.... Rolling Eyes

I'll be making an "executive" decision on this by mid afternoon as I'm planning on puttung everything back in the rack so we can rehearse/record tomorrow night

I'll let you know what I end up doing

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
gmeister Offline
Active Member


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 314
Age: 59


PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have to ask you know it's wrong to do it.

Listen to your conscious
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not so much conscious as practicality at this point... as I'm working my way "down" the rack, it's easier to deal with the PC last as I'm tsting each piece of gear as I go... and having the PC in the mid/top would mean more crawling around...

what a pain... i hope I get this right (for a long while)... this time

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
freesalsa Offline
Active Member





PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put my patchbays at the bottom of the rack so that when I have the cables plugged into it, they are not draping over other rack gear.

If you are using decent quality BALANCED wire and connectors, the power cables from your rack gear just don't radiate enough power to worry much about them. Big 'ol 220v cables is another story, but not many of those in a studio eh? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile
Lt. Bob Offline
On a Break


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 12390
Location: America's Wang
Age: 66


PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah but he's talking about placing a power conditioner next to the bay.

They have transformers in some of those ............ I wouldn't want anything with a transformer humming away stuck close to where ALL my cables intersected.
Maybe I'm full of shit ........... but I know that I'd put it somewhere else.

_________________
Of course your take on me, is going to be different than my take on me --- GT
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
skod Offline
Giant Member





PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it depends on which sort of power conditioner it is. If it is a simple low end surge suppressor type (basically just a couple of small inductors, MOVs and some outlets on a rack strip), it shouldn't matter. However, if it is a buck/boost voltage stabilizer that has a good sized transformer in it (either a ferroresonant design or an actively-controlled multitap design), it *might* give you enough stray magnetic field to induce some noise in high impedance or single-ended lines. Most active rack stabilizers use toroidal transformers that are pretty well magnetically benign, but there's always the exception...

If the bay is all line level, and most importantly is all low impedance balanced, you'll very likely have no trouble. But as with all things audio, it'll be an empirical thing: every setup differs...

_________________
Scott Griffith, Scratchpad Studio/Earfull Sound
the Nerd formerly known as Skippy
Back to top
View user's profile
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's a pic- power conditioners are as physically far away as I could get them (at the bottom of the front rack

what an ordeal... now I need to make new patch cables that are shorter so there's not so much "slack", and move the reel-to-reel in on the right side (other side of the computer monitors.

The cable for the tape machine is already run and ready to go

Anybody neecd do rac x rca snakes? TR x TR snakes, how about a package deal on 2 Neutrik 24x2 TRS and 3 16x 2 TR (not Neutrik)... package deal, take one, take all Wink

I may decide to let go a 16 channel XLR M x F snake (very nice ) ... not sure if I should hold on to it or not

how about a Tascam CD A500 deck?


 

patchbay.jpg


_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:    View previous topic :: View next topic 
Quick Reply      
Use this form to post a quick reply without having to go through the normal reply process.    
     
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Recording Project Forum Index -> Consoles and Routing All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum