You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> Live Gear

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 live rack mount vocal processors??
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
joro Offline






PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:18 am    Post subject: live rack mount vocal processors?? Reply with quote

hi fellas,

Does anyone have any preference or recommendations for live use vocal processors?
money is no object.......... Rolling Eyes
would like something with insert capabilities for a board with the following specifics....

two balanced ins with separate controls for each channel for the following...
compression
parametric and comb (16-32 band) filter eq's
reverb
flange
chorus
delay
presets are fine but, they would need to be tweakable...

is there such an animal?

_________________
clowns to the left of me...jokers to the right...here I am..... DOH
Back to top
View user's profile
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joro

2 mono's?

I think you may need to get 2 separate units... every 2 channel/stereo processor (I've seen) seems to be linked, so while you may have separate inputs/outputs... the setting is the same for each side (which to me seems self defeating unless you're using it on a main/stereo out)... and at that... why not have the selectivity of 2 settings?

I put this in the same category/conundrum as why mixer manufacturers can't put a tru bypass around the damn internal pres?

but I've lived a sheltered life Rolling Eyes

Stainless

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Happy Birthday !
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joro

2 mono's?

I think you may need to get 2 separate units... every 2 channel/stereo processor (I've seen) seems to be linked, so while you may have separate inputs/outputs... the setting is the same for each side (which to me seems self defeating unless you're using it on a main/stereo out)... and at that... why not have the selectivity of 2 settings?

I put this in the same category/conundrum as why mixer manufacturers can't put a tru bypass around the damn internal pres?

but I've lived a sheltered life Rolling Eyes

Stainless

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Happy Birthday !
joro Offline






PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your input man...................in stereo no less........Rolling Eyes Wink
I sort of thought we would need two......figures....ya know?


we are gonna buy two TC Helicon Voiceworks plus rack strips......

the mic pre's are supposed to be outstanding but, so are the pre's on the Soundcraft board......

_________________
clowns to the left of me...jokers to the right...here I am..... DOH
Back to top
View user's profile Happy Birthday !
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the rack mount Voice works ( Mic pre is OK (it's hard to tell with the processing) ... but the output is 1/4"... which leaves a line level input (and still dealing with the gain circuitry on most boards) and I've yet figured out how to get the "bypass" function to work with one of the footswitch buttons.... I can switch all kinds of other things!

having it go thru 2 pre-amps makes the sensitivity extreme and any guitar bleed... the harmonizer tends to make it sound off/out of tune...

seems I played with a player who had one of the pedal units and his guitar and mic both went into the pedal... and I think he could keep the guitar separate front he effects... but if either got too loud (or too low) in the mix, both were affected by adjustments through the mains

I may have to just learn how to mod circuits so there's a true bypass around pre-amps...

and there is a slight bit of latency, not real noticeable... but if you record you'll see it compared to a dry track

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Happy Birthday !
joro Offline






PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

right but, we will turn off the phantom and lower the gain to nill on the board....we are using stage condenser mics...a shure ksm9 and a sennheiser e965....
_________________
clowns to the left of me...jokers to the right...here I am..... DOH
Back to top
View user's profile Happy Birthday !
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the new one's have XLR in... they may not pass the phantom power, so may not be an issue

what about just putting them on the sends?

we use the Audio-Technica AE-3300 stage condensers - great mics (and they record well in the studio, too!)

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Happy Birthday !
Display posts from previous:    View previous topic :: View next topic 
Quick Reply      
Use this form to post a quick reply without having to go through the normal reply process.    
     
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Recording Project Forum Index -> Live Gear All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum