You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> Songwriters

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 is it important that u play instrument as songwriter?
View previous topic :: View next topic 
iLoveMusic Offline

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:35 pm    Post subject: is it important that u play instrument as songwriter? Reply with quote

I am very new to the world of music i would say... but I love it as my name implies lol.
which brings me to my question:
I have been writing poetry for a very long time since i was an infant to now being 17 years of age. I never really had access to instruments growing up, there was no prior musician in anotehr generation... well my dad plays drums but i never found that out until this year plus i never lived with him. but anyways yes it was all poetry until about 10 years old.
basically i have gone from simply poetry, to an interest in being a hip hop artist. And im interested in both the wordplay and the production with instruments, etc. however my problem is, i like to write then i think of melodies but its just that i dont know a thing about chords and the many other things that come with musical knowledge
so its hard to write lyrics to a beat or rhythm when i really dont know the notes of wut i want to play...
iLoveMusic Offline

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know that there are alot of big hip hop producers out there these days that had no instrumental background either... they just know wut sounds good and/or makes hits
so the question is more relevant to the artists relation to the music... hm maybe this question WAS more relevant to the producer's role...

well anyways plz if u have any responses to the question plz reply
all advice is appreciated =D
dobro Offline
more personal tittle

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote