You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> Vocalists

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 is this head voice?
View previous topic :: View next topic 
antispatula Offline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 4:43 pm    Post subject: is this head voice? Reply with quote

I've been singing for 2 years now, but have just started taking lessons. Today was my 2nd lesson. We have only done simple breathing excersises, but on my own I THINK I've discovered how to use my head voice.

http://ollertonmusic.com/hv.mp3

can anyone tell me if this is head voice I'm using? I'm a little confused that some teachers claim head voice and falsetto in a man is the same thing, so at the end of the clip I change to falsetto, and there is obviously a huge difference. Perhaps what I'm using is my "mixed" voice? It's certainly not my chest voice, I could never in a million years get that high in my chest voice. It's the A above middle C.

Thanks!
thrice_removed Offline

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normal singing is typically a combination of chest and head voice, whilst falsetto is entirely head voice. Typically the more chest and less head noise in your singing the better (except when that is not realistic such as when singing falsetto).

So anyways to answer your question - you are singing with your mainly your head in the clip.
MysticRocker Offline

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are using a mixed or head voice. Falsetto has an ariy quality that is weak in sound quality.

Falsetto and Head voice are not the same thing and have nothing to do with each other. Falsetto IS NOT head voice. Head voice means you are in the upper range of your voice and the chords are still vibrating connected. Falsetto means you have disconnected and the chords are not touching when they vibrate. This is what can lead to nodes and other problems.