You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> DAW Software

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 Other - My first Reaper question.
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
DimChandeliers Offline
Active Member


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 146


PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:37 am    Post subject: My first Reaper question. Reply with quote

I'm using the NI Guitar Rig vst to record my guitar parts by inserting "virtual instrument in new track".

Question: I want to , somehow, render it as a "finished" audio track so it no longer has the vst routing. How do i do that?
Back to top
View user's profile
Porter Offline
Head Honcho


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 40


PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, there are 2 options. 'Freeze' or 'Render'. Both options are in the same menu. Right click on a track in the Track Control Panel (left hand side of the screen), choose one of the options from the 'Render/freeze tracks' option.

Freeze will make a render of the track which when played back will play the temporary render of the file, so you can 'unfreeze' and adjust setting later.

Render actually renders another track with all effects/instruments applied and muts the original tracks.

For the Render to not use CPU cycles, make sure in preferences in the 'Audio' section you have a check in the 'Do not process muted tracks (muted tracks take no CPU time, etc)' option.

That's for the whole track. You can apply track FX (ie VSTi's) to singular items if you right click on them and choose the 'apply track fx to items as new take', but in doing that, if you have say an EQ on that track, you would have to bypass it to save the CPU cycles.

Hope that all makes sense,

Daniel

_________________
Ahh the heroes of the internet. I just never thought one of them would be named porter Wink ~pdk
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DimChandeliers Offline
Active Member


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 146


PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it. Thanks Daniel.

Initially, I couldn't figure out why my Guitar rig tracks sounded so noisy. I didn't realize that the playback was running thru the Rig and getting the process doubled! Talk about overkill.
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:    View previous topic :: View next topic 
Quick Reply      
Use this form to post a quick reply without having to go through the normal reply process.    
     
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Recording Project Forum Index -> DAW Software All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum