You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> Signal Processing

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 anybody using Lucid AD/DA converters?
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:15 am    Post subject: anybody using Lucid AD/DA converters? Reply with quote

happy, wish you hadn't bought it?
_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15559
Age: 28


PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My impression is that Lucid converters are great for people that don't have anything really important to buy for the studio.
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need to add 8 I/o's so I can have have different mics and pre/combo's already patch-in and all i need to do is select inputs within DP, rather than unplugging, plugging, resetting levels, etc... takes too much time...

and as I use pairs of outputs for each headphone mix, a few more outputs would be handy

It would be most convenient to have what my band typically uses, and those other set-yups when I have a female vocalist over, a horn player, 2 acoustic players that insist on playing "live"

yes I'm lazy... and even though I've been at this for a 'few" years, having to change set-ups mid-session is stressful for me... and usually if I'm going to have a problem... this is when the "Please stand by, we are experiencing technical difficulties" moments occur

the Lucids are not ridiculously priced (used)

besides I don't need anymore guitars or mics at the moment Wink

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15559
Age: 28


PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stainless wrote:
I need to add 8 I/o's so I can have have different mics and pre/combo's already patch-in and all i need to do is select inputs within DP, rather than unplugging, plugging, resetting levels, etc... takes too much time...


Yeah, exactly. Anything that cuts down on setup time is something to pursue. Something I've never understood about my interface is the converters. I've got 8 ins on my unit (Presonus Firestudio Mobile). Does that mean there are 8 converters? There must be, right?

_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes you have 8 analog to digital (AD) on the input side and 2 digital to analog (DA) on the output, plus 2 main outputs L/R (which will be analog, the headphone (which I think is just a feed from the main out with it's own volume control... and a xformer to work with headphones) in addition to the SPDIF I/O an dhe MIDI I/O

each signal path if it's changing from analog or digital to the other has a converter

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
tmix Offline
Amazing Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 706
Location: Mansfield Texas (Dallas /Fort Worth)
Age: 59


PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have some Lucids but just 2 channels.
I love them, they are what I use for critical tracking and listening.
I have a/b'd them against appogees and there was not enough difference to pay the additional prices. I have 16 channels of RME adi-8 and 8 channels of behringer also

_________________
Tom Menikos
T-Mix Studio
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the RME FF800 with a D8, and a Aphex 141 D/A, but it would nice to have another 8 I/O, although sometimes I wonder why it is I need 28 channels of I/O

I always though Lucid was a pretty top-drawer company, but a few people just really ragged on them at Gearslutz. The 8824's are pretty reasonable, and as I only record in 44.1 there's little reason for me to get the newer 88192

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
tmix Offline
Amazing Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 706
Location: Mansfield Texas (Dallas /Fort Worth)
Age: 59


PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, they are nuts at Gearslutz sometimes...the 8824s are very good I almost pulled the trigger on them at one time, but just could not find a good enough deal.
_________________
Tom Menikos
T-Mix Studio
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll let you know how the 8824 works $646 shipped!
_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
tmix Offline
Amazing Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 706
Location: Mansfield Texas (Dallas /Fort Worth)
Age: 59


PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is a good deal.
I came really close to getting a pair at $1400 (16 channels) but I just never got the cash together before he sold them to another guy.

_________________
Tom Menikos
T-Mix Studio
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

8 more is all I need... this puts me to 28 I/O

if that ain't enough someone shoot me

lets hope it works!

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TMix

so if you were to get a Lucid, would use it as the clock or the RME? (I have the FW800)

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
tmix Offline
Amazing Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 706
Location: Mansfield Texas (Dallas /Fort Worth)
Age: 59


PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Lucid Clock running the Lucid convertors and the RME and the Behringer.
Honestly...I tried it the other way around and I also let everything self clock and could not tell a difference sonically, with the exception of some errors I got when everything was self clocked. It just is a lot easier for me to generate a wordclock sync from my lucid clock and then clock everything else to it.
Dead stable.

_________________
Tom Menikos
T-Mix Studio
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks!

I have everything clocked to the RME (ADAT (DCool and a SPDIF (ARTDPSII... I think it may be destined for replacement/upgrade)

I have to pull the ART for the Lucid....... but may try clocking to the Lucid

or not Wink

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a late follow-up.... the LUCID ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm clocking to it... no issues, no clicks, just 28 I/O of smooth sailing ahead!

so far I'm only using a few of the Lucid converters- running an Avalon U5 in and keyboards

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15559
Age: 28


PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very cool! Thumb Up
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tmix Offline
Amazing Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 706
Location: Mansfield Texas (Dallas /Fort Worth)
Age: 59


PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They do rock!
I love my system, currently running as 26 I/O but dead stable

_________________
Tom Menikos
T-Mix Studio
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15559
Age: 28


PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, fellows... what's the advantage of the Lucid converters over what you had before? Is it the stability and 'no clicks' thing? And why was that happening? Because you track so many inputs at one time?
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tmix Offline
Amazing Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 706
Location: Mansfield Texas (Dallas /Fort Worth)
Age: 59


PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think for me, it was when ever you need more ins and outs than a single piece of integrated hardware can offer you can run into issues of synchronization between multiple pieces of interfaces.
Specially from different manufacturers.

It can take the form of clicks, pops, noises and in some cases audio that does not line up correctly.

Probably it is a total non issue for folks using a single interface, so you are right in your observation it seems to really affect those who need a large amount of I/O.

_________________
Tom Menikos
T-Mix Studio
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will agree with Tmix's comments, and add ALL clocks are not created equal. Less expensive clocks have more "jitter" and may have more errors as all those 0's and 1's are moving, resulting in unwanted noise and in some cases artifacts (the obvious pop and click).

the higher the track count, the more datas that has to be handled. I thing (IMHO) the better clocks/converters yield better clarity

_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15559
Age: 28


PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tops, I record three tracks simultaneously (two mics on the guitar amp) one on the voice. More recently, two mics - one on the cab, one on the voice. Probably not an issue, since it's a relatively low track count and it's only one interface involved. Dunno. Way beyond me.
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 64


PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keep in mind I'm somewhat deranged .....
_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15559
Age: 28


PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but you also know stuff. Cool
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    View previous topic :: View next topic 
Quick Reply      
Use this form to post a quick reply without having to go through the normal reply process.    
     
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Recording Project Forum Index -> Signal Processing All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum