You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> New to Recording?

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 Gain for my SM57
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
TheJuke Offline
Newbie


Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 28


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 5:52 pm    Post subject: Gain for my SM57 Reply with quote

Hey guys,
Im having massive issues recording vocals with my SM57 through a Yamaha Audiogram 3. I have the input and output gain knobs at almost maximum gain but in cubase you can barely see the waveform and i have to put my speakers at twice the normal volume to hear anything.

Two questions:
1. Does anyone know how much gain the audiogram can achieve? I cant find this answer anywhere on the net.
2. If it doesn't have enough, what would be my best solution? A virtual amplifier on cubase?

The Juke
Back to top
View user's profile
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15587
Age: 29


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like the Audiogram just doesn't have enough gain for a dynamic mic. (You'd think that anybody putting an interface with preamps together would make sure it could serve a Shure SM57...) The best solution would be a better preamp with decent gain. However, if you ran the SM57 through another preamp, how would you route it? Through the Audiogram?
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TheJuke Offline
Newbie


Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 28


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't really have funds at the moment as i just bought the mic. So do you think a virtual amplifier would work? Im really not worried about the sound quality at this stage, any amplification that wont majorly distort would be fine.
Back to top
View user's profile
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15587
Age: 29


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's the original signal that's king. I don't know what virtual amplification is, but it doesn't sound like the real thing. What you want is this: the best signal going to tape/disk/recorder that you can manage. Part of that 'best' is making sure it's loud enough, but not too loud (you can afford 10 dB of headroom if you're tracking digitally at 24 bit). But if it's too quiet (and that's what seems to be happening with your setup) then when you boost the signal in the mix, you're bringing up the noisefloor as well, and it's a less clean sound. So if the Audiogram isn't generating a loud enough signal to Cubase, then you should either:

* get a good preamp

* get a different mic - a condenser, not a dynamic

* accept the situation for the time being and wait for some money to show up

_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lt. Bob Offline
On a Break


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 12390
Location: America's Wang
Age: 67


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need a preamp.
This one is only 30 bucks:
http://backstage.musiciansfriend.com/Pro-Audio/Signal-Processors/Microphone-Preamps/Tube-MP-Studio-Mic-Preamp.site1sku180581000000000.sku

You don't need to wait for more money for a better pre ........ this one'll do the job and get you going. I use one just like this only a different badge (brand) on it all the time ....... sounds just fine.
And it'll give you phantom for later when you get a condenser. There's actually a lot of little uses for it that you'll find ...... a nice little 30 dollar tool that you can toss into a backpack and won't worry about bashing it.

_________________
Of course your take on me, is going to be different than my take on me --- GT
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
nomad1970 Offline
Active Member


Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 194
Location: Great White North


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

$30!!! wow, good deal. I recorded a lot of music through that pre.

I use a SM7 with an API512 and still crank the gain almost full - that's just the way it is with dynamic mics (and ribbons) and soft source. The key is if you want to use dynamics on quiet sources, you need a good pre - a relatively quiet one that works at higher gain.

That said, the tube mp will work for you with an sm57, and you will need to crank it up a lot to get a good signal. Bit of hiss, but doesn't matter if you're doing louder styles of music.

Maudio DMP3 is another good cheap pre that does the job.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Lt. Bob Offline
On a Break


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 12390
Location: America's Wang
Age: 67


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah ..... let me clarify to the OP. I'm NOT saying it's an awesome pre. It's merely adequate but it IS adequate and will solve your problem and get you started.
Later on as you learn you'll want something else but this'll do for quite a while.
I'm glad to have nomad chime in ..... he does nice music and I'm sure I've heard stuff of his done with that pre and all his stuff sounds great.

_________________
Of course your take on me, is going to be different than my take on me --- GT
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15587
Age: 29


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And there you have it. Sewed it up, pretty much. I'm gonna dig out my ART Tube Pre. I want to have another look at it lol.
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lt. Bob Offline
On a Break


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 12390
Location: America's Wang
Age: 67


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dobro wrote:
And there you have it. Sewed it up, pretty much. I'm gonna dig out my ART Tube Pre. I want to have another look at it lol.
well now .............. don't you have a RNP? I'm thinking that's gonna be better. But the little Art's gonna have its' own sound.
_________________
Of course your take on me, is going to be different than my take on me --- GT
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
dobro Offline
more personal tittle


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 15587
Age: 29


PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, but I'm thinking about travel. Both can travel. But I don't care about the ART lol.
_________________
You must enter a message when posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BobWheatley Offline






PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Juke, don't make it..... a hey check the MIC/INST button. It should be out for a mic. I have the same issue with my 57 and MAudio interface.
Back to top
View user's profile
BobWheatley Offline






PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh and here is a link for the specs.

http://www.northernsound.net/Sales/processing/interfaces/yamaha/pdf/audiogram3_brochure.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile
stainless Offline
Ultra Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 5231
Location: Left Coast... away from earthquakes
Age: 65


PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the ART got a lot less noisy/grainy by changing the tube... and it's capable of serious overdrive (using it to get a "dirty" sound out of the Rhodes
_________________
Stainless ....

I wish I could be traded like a penny in the arcade for a token to be played
on a cello strung with strings that are my dreams



Check out our music at http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/stainlessbrown[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:    View previous topic :: View next topic 
Quick Reply      
Use this form to post a quick reply without having to go through the normal reply process.    
     
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Recording Project Forum Index -> New to Recording? All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum