You must log in or register to post. Registration is free! [ Register ]

The Recording Project Forum Index -> Consoles and Routing

FAQ Search Photo Album!
 preamp went up in smoke
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
the inhabitant Offline
The Great Inhabitator!


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 2650
Location: San Diego


PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:58 pm    Post subject: preamp went up in smoke Reply with quote

OK, so here's what happened. I accidentally sent phantom power to my nice channel strip. There was a pop sound and smoke started rising from from it.

My question is: Isn't this fixable? Doesn't this just mean there's some little fuse or something that blew up?

The meter still jumps around when I send a signal to it. And the gain reduction meter still works when I use the compressor. So it seems like most of the unit still works...just part of it doesn't work.

Any electronics wiz out there that knows what would blow up if phantom power was sent to a preamp? I took the thing apart and I don't see what could have been smoking and nothing is hot to the touch.

???????????

(And I'm too poor to buy a new one. Sad )

_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile
the inhabitant Offline
The Great Inhabitator!


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 2650
Location: San Diego


PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I was hoping there was a magic cure. Some gizmo such as a fuse that I could buy at radio shack and solder in place. But there aint. It's a little computer chip looking thingy that blew up. Aint no replacing that.

Fuck!

Sad Sad Sad

_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile
Emeric Offline
Giant Member


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 4350
Location: Great White North


PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Details? What is the 'strip'?
_________________
-----------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
the inhabitant Offline
The Great Inhabitator!


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 2650
Location: San Diego


PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was a Presonus Eureka. It was my only nice pre. Sad ("Nice" meaning a stand alone unit that's better than the pre's on my mixer.)
_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile
skulpter Offline
Giant Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1489
Location: Asheville, NC
Age: 50


PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I feel your pain -- I was recording our band by running 1/4" instrument cables from our PA channel inserts to my interface. I'd forgotten to disable phantom power on the interface, and when I replaced the octopus of instrument cables with a 1/4" balanced to xlr snake, the phantom power fried two channels on both the PA and my interface. I'm so bummed. The PA's an easy fix -- an authorized Behringer dealer will replace the entire surface of the board with one he has in his shop (he has several with fried power supplies) for $75. It's the FW1884 that's killing me. I need at least ten inputs, and now I'm down to six, and we're in the middle of recording a demo.

Bloody hell.

_________________
Fifty Year Flood on MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/fiftyyearflood
Check out my new website: http://sculptorjones.com
More images and audio to come.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
WKWizard Offline
Amazing Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Posts: 587
Location: Minnesota
Age: 45


PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Presonus has good customer support from my experience. Contact them.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Dethska Offline
...the other WATYF


Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 8578
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Age: 40


PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the inhabitant wrote:
Well, I was hoping there was a magic cure. Some gizmo such as a fuse that I could buy at radio shack and solder in place. But there aint. It's a little computer chip looking thingy that blew up. Aint no replacing that.

Fuck!

Sad Sad Sad


Actually, you can replace the computer chip looking thingy. It's just harder. If you knew what part it was, you could probably find it at Digikey and then you need someone who can solder to make the switch. You'd also need to know if anything else blew up.

A reputable repair shop could probably fix it for you for not too much coin, I'd imagine.

_________________
The Black Sheep of Moderators
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
the inhabitant Offline
The Great Inhabitator!


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 2650
Location: San Diego


PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dethska wrote:
the inhabitant wrote:
Well, I was hoping there was a magic cure. Some gizmo such as a fuse that I could buy at radio shack and solder in place. But there aint. It's a little computer chip looking thingy that blew up. Aint no replacing that.

Fuck!

Sad Sad Sad


Actually, you can replace the computer chip looking thingy. It's just harder. If you knew what part it was, you could probably find it at Digikey and then you need someone who can solder to make the switch. You'd also need to know if anything else blew up.

A reputable repair shop could probably fix it for you for not too much coin, I'd imagine.


hmmmm...ok maybe I try that...

_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile
the inhabitant Offline
The Great Inhabitator!


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 2650
Location: San Diego


PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skulpter wrote:
I feel your pain -- I was recording our band by running 1/4" instrument cables from our PA channel inserts to my interface. I'd forgotten to disable phantom power on the interface, and when I replaced the octopus of instrument cables with a 1/4" balanced to xlr snake, the phantom power fried two channels on both the PA and my interface. I'm so bummed. The PA's an easy fix -- an authorized Behringer dealer will replace the entire surface of the board with one he has in his shop (he has several with fried power supplies) for $75. It's the FW1884 that's killing me. I need at least ten inputs, and now I'm down to six, and we're in the middle of recording a demo.

Bloody hell.


Sad

_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile
the inhabitant Offline
The Great Inhabitator!


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 2650
Location: San Diego


PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WKWizard wrote:
Presonus has good customer support from my experience. Contact them.


Ya think? Even if it's a couple years old and I did something stupid to make it smoke like a chimney?

_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile
the inhabitant Offline
The Great Inhabitator!


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 2650
Location: San Diego


PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the inhabitant wrote:
Dethska wrote:
the inhabitant wrote:
Well, I was hoping there was a magic cure. Some gizmo such as a fuse that I could buy at radio shack and solder in place. But there aint. It's a little computer chip looking thingy that blew up. Aint no replacing that.

Fuck!

Sad Sad Sad


Actually, you can replace the computer chip looking thingy. It's just harder. If you knew what part it was, you could probably find it at Digikey and then you need someone who can solder to make the switch. You'd also need to know if anything else blew up.

A reputable repair shop could probably fix it for you for not too much coin, I'd imagine.


hmmmm...ok maybe I try that...


and thanks yo!

_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:    View previous topic :: View next topic 
Quick Reply      
Use this form to post a quick reply without having to go through the normal reply process.    
     
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Recording Project Forum Index -> Consoles and Routing All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum